Pages

Saturday, August 1, 2015

Re-Thinking the Hiatus - 8/1/2015 (Weekend Edition)

Readers,

I have received comments from two people who have indicated that they enjoy reading the blog posts. For that reason, I think I will continue. After all..where two or more are gathered... Therefore, for the weekend:

To be conservative, then, is to prefer the familiar to the unknown, to prefer the tried to the untried, fact to mystery, the actual to the possible, the limited to the unbounded, the near to the distant, the sufficient to the superabundant, the convenient to the perfect, present laughter to utopian bliss - Michael Oakeshott


Health Insurance Isn’t Really Insurance - Jim Fedako, Mises

Jamestown and Secret Priests? - Adrienne LaFrance, The Atlantic

Fallacies...and Religious Liberty Cases - Francis Beckwith, The Catholic Thing

Walking The Wire Between Constitutional Law and Hopelessness - Erin Sheley, Nomocracy

A Libertarian View of Francis’ Laudato Si - Donald Devine, Liberty Law Blog

P.P. “Hacking” Sure Looks Like An Orchestrated PR Stunt - Sean Davis, The Federalist

India’s Faltering Economic Revolution - Doug Bandow, Cato

What Causes Income Inequality? - Francis Menton, City Journal

On Libertarians and ‘Useful Idiots’ - Ed Whelan, NRO

The Co-Habitation Trap - George Sim Johnston, The Catholic Thing

Planned Parenthood Delenda Est - Editors, What's Wrong with the World

Cultural Woes Affect Our Economy, Too - Rachel Sheffield, Daily Signal

Pinker Pushes Unethical Human Research - Wesley J. Smith, NRO


Friday, July 31, 2015

Suspending the Blog - A Final List

Dear Readers:

This week, I have been taking stock of the blog, and realized that I do not think I have much to offer on it. My reasoning is that, for the most part, I feature the same other blogs, posts from those blogs, etc. Were a reader to simply add the blogs I read to their feeder, they would find the same articles I do. In short, I do not have much of a "value-add." This is particularly true as I do not have time (or inclination, at this point) to attempt much original writing, which was part of the purpose of this blog in the first place. For the time being, therefore, I am suspending the blog. Thank you for your interest and occasional comments.

Below, I am going to list below the blogs I regularly follow, so that you may add them to your own feeder. These are in no particular order of importance.

The Imaginative Conservative - http://www.theimaginativeconservative.org/

The Weekly Standard - http://www.weeklystandard.com/

National Review - http://www.nationalreview.com/

What's Wrong with the World - http://whatswrongwiththeworld.net/

American Catholic - http://the-american-catholic.com/

Brain Pickings - http://www.brainpickings.org/

Dean Clancy - https://deanclancy21.wordpress.com/

The Catholic Thing - http://www.thecatholicthing.org/

Mises Institute Daily - https://mises.org/library/mises-daily

AEI Ideas - http://www.aei.org/publication/blog/

Mirror of Justice - http://mirrorofjustice.blogs.com/mirrorofjustice/

NRO PoMoCon - http://www.nationalreview.com/postmodern-conservatism

Library of Law and Liberty Blog - http://www.libertylawsite.org/blog/

The American Conservative: Dreher - http://www.theamericanconservative.com/dreher/

Cato@Liberty - http://www.cato.org/blog

New Geography - http://www.newgeography.com/

University Bookman - http://www.kirkcenter.org/index.php/bookman/

The Federalist - http://thefederalist.com/

The Volokh Conspiracy - https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/volokh-conspiracy/

Acton Powerblog - http://blog.acton.org/

The City Journal - http://www.city-journal.org/index.html

Intercollegiate Review - http://www.intercollegiatereview.com/

Nomocracy in Politics - http://nomocracyinpolitics.com/

Heritage Reports - http://www.heritage.org/research/reports

The Daily Signal - http://dailysignal.com/

NYT Ross Douthat - http://douthat.blogs.nytimes.com/

Hoover Institute: Defining Ideas - http://www.hoover.org/publications/defining-ideas

Human Events - http://humanevents.com/

First Things: Web Exclusives - http://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives

Thursday, July 30, 2015

CathCon Daily - 7/30/2015

Freedom has appeared in the world at different times and under various forms; it has not been exclusively bound to any social condition, and it is not confined to democracies. Freedom cannot, therefore, form the distinguishing characteristic of democratic ages. The peculiar and preponderating fact which marks those ages as its own is the equality of conditions; the ruling passion of men in those periods is the love of this equality. - Alexis de Tocqueville

Conservatives and Transgenderism - Gregory Brown, Public Discourse

Why Yankees Won’t...Leave the South Alone - Forrest McDonald, Imaginative Conservative

What’s a Nice Girl Like You Doing in a Movie Like This? - Eve Tushnet, American Conservative

Segregated Sunday Mornings - Patrick Brown, First Things

Rich Corporate Elites and Gay Marriage - Ryan T. Anderson, Daily Signal

After Planned Parenthood...? - Editors, National Review

The Right Time To Marry Is… - Rachel Lu, The Federalist

10 Quick, Important Developments On P.P. - Mollie Hemingway, The Federalist

A Reply to Zmirak and Cooke - Daniel Klein, Intercollegiate Review

The Pope’s Wisest Warning - Chad Pecknold, Pope in D.C.